The Front Page (1931) from Kino in August

Post news stories and home video release announcements here.
  • Author

Harold Aherne

The Front Page (1931) from Kino in August

PostFri Apr 03, 2015 9:44 pm

Good news from Kino: a release on DVD and Blu-Ray (as noted on their Facebook page) of a title I had almost given up on in re: a high-quality edition.
http://www.blu-ray.com/movies/The-Front-Page-Blu-ray/128724/

-HA

Rollo Treadway

Re: The Front Page (1931) from Kino in August

PostFri Apr 03, 2015 10:17 pm

That's excellent news. I had feared that this one would remain forever consigned to "Public Domain Hell."

R Michael Pyle

PostSat Apr 04, 2015 5:55 am

Fabulous news!! The public domain versions that have been out for decades have been simply deplorable for one of the best films of the early 30's! I've been hoping for this for at least 30 years!

Michael O'Regan

PostSat Apr 04, 2015 12:40 pm

Nice one.

Christopher Jacobs

PostSat Apr 04, 2015 2:27 pm

Many years ago I saw a beautiful 16mm collector print of THE FRONT PAGE that was either an original or a very good reduction from 35mm, drastically better than any of the numerous 16mm dupes floating around. I've wondered ever since whey every single video version has been so awful-looking. It will be wonderful to see this again looking the way it should! Now if only Sony will release or license their pristine 35mm material of HIS GIRL FRIDAY to play with it as a double-feature!

Marr&Colton

PostSun Apr 05, 2015 6:06 am

It would be a great idea for both films restored in one release.

HIS GIRL FRIDAY has been pulled from most reliable Public Domain lists due to story--literary rights recently acquired
making the movie derivative and thus no longer PD.

I'm wondering if this also affects THE FRONT PAGE.....

syd

PostSun Apr 05, 2015 7:29 am

In every print I have viewed of The Front Page, Adolph Menjou's Walter Burns'
last line ("that SOB stole my watch" no acronym in the movie) is edited