NEW BIOGRAPHY OF RICARDO CORTEZ

Post news stories and home video release announcements here.
  • Author

djv2800

NEW BIOGRAPHY OF RICARDO CORTEZ

PostSat Mar 25, 2017 7:36 pm

Hello, My name is Dan Van Neste and I'm an author and biographer. Many of you know me from all my many articles in Classic Images and Films of the Golden Age magazines. I’m very proud and excited to announce the publication of my new book, The Magnificent Heel: The Life and Films of Ricardo Cortez. (BearManor Media). The following is the back cover summary which gives you a good idea of what’s inside.

With his dark good looks, muscular physique, heavy-lidded bedroom eyes and easy smile, Ricardo Cortez cut a dashing figure on the silver screen for over 5 decades. Originally signed by Paramount Pictures in 1922 as a cinematic “Latin lover”—a threat to Rudolph Valentino, by the early 1930’s, Cortez had successfully transitioned to sound motion pictures where he became one of the most popular and sought-after actors in Hollywood. Renowned for his professionalism, and for his ability to play a wide range of characters in all genres, Cortez eventually became recognized as one of the movies’ premier heavies. A list of his bad-guy impersonations on film is a veritable rogue’s gallery from sexy wastrels and trouble makers, to more nefarious gangsters, and maniacal murderers. Each bore the stamp of this underrated, long neglected actor’s unique artistry. At the peak of his popularity, in 1934 one astute critic proclaimed Ricardo Cortez the cinema’s “magnificent heel.”