Surviving actors.

Open, general discussion of silent films, personalities and history.
  • Author

Willieeee

Surviving actors.

PostFri Apr 29, 2011 4:26 pm

Hello, everybody. I'm relatively new to classic film, and mostly uninitiated in silent film. Since some years ago i have become more interested in classic film, and especially in the surviving people of the first decades of cinema, including specially the silent era. Of course, even in the internet era it is very difficult to obtain accurate information on the whereabouts and alive (or not) status of these people (the living treasures of cinema, really). Some years ago i believed that imdb was a completely reliable source, but recently i've found it not to be so. I'm sorry for my bad english (my language is spanish) and i'm sorry because i'm about to ask some questions to the forum and to write a long and probably boring account of my recent interest in these issues, but i'm doing it because, of the many sites i've been visiting looking for information (imbd, younghollywoodhof, wikipedia, Stummfilm-Blog, etc) this forum seems to be one of the (or THE) most complete, and some people here seems to know A LOT about these questions :D , so i will try to be respectful of the very valuable information these learned people can give to me, an information very difficult to find indeed. Thank you in advance :) (oh, and sorry if i'm asking something already adressed in some other post...)

Changsham

PostFri Apr 29, 2011 5:31 pm

Hi, I don't think you will find much more than to what is commonly known on IMDB or Wilkipedia. Although there may be some obscure people still around but likely ex child players if so.

To name the few I know who started out in the silent era and are still around to this day will be child players Micky Rooney and Baby Peggy and also Barbara Kent who is perhaps the last adult player. Only Baby Peggy would be considered to have had some real fame at the time though.