Familiar with Microsoft Works 9? What did I do wrong?

Site FAQs, calendar of festivals and other helpful tools.
  • Author
  • Message
Offline
User avatar

Darren Nemeth

  • Posts: 1138
  • Joined: Tue Dec 18, 2007 11:58 am
  • Location: Waterford Township, Michigan

Familiar with Microsoft Works 9? What did I do wrong?

PostWed Dec 16, 2009 10:25 pm

A month ago I bought Microsoft Works 9, installed it, typed a document and everything was fine. Several days later I tried typing another document and all the characters are scrunched together as seen below!! :(

Also when I open my existing Works document files they appear the same way! They weren't like this in the older version of Works I had on the other computer. I searched through all the settings and tools and can't find what I did wrong. :(

I just reinstalled it tonight and get the same.

Can someone suggest how I can fix this? I have a feeling something needs to either be toggled on or off. :(

Anyone have the same problem?

It looks like this when I type something in a fresh document.

I figured someone here will know the answer because this forums has more than a few book authors.

Image
Darren Nemeth
1966 Batboat Blog!
Image
http://batboat.blogspot.com/
Offline
User avatar

boblipton

  • Posts: 4601
  • Joined: Fri Jan 18, 2008 8:01 pm
  • Location: Here. No, over here. Yes, that's me

PostWed Dec 16, 2009 11:22 pm

Darren, with the minimum amoutn of sarcasm, your problem is you're using Microsoft Works. Try switching to Open Office -- it's free.

You may have a hidden character or may have printer setting issues.

Bob
Film is not the art of scholars, but of illiterates.

-- Werner Herzog
Offline
User avatar

Rick Lanham

  • Posts: 1748
  • Joined: Wed Feb 25, 2009 10:16 pm
  • Location: Gainesville, FL

PostWed Dec 16, 2009 11:35 pm

If I had the above problem, and had already re-installed the program, I would:

1. Check to see that the correct fonts are selected for use (maybe in a template file? or a wrong template file is selected?).

2. If that is OK, then I would re-install the fonts from the master disk or a backup.

Rick
Offline
User avatar

Danny Burk

Moderator

  • Posts: 1516
  • Joined: Tue Dec 18, 2007 7:11 pm
  • Location: South Bend, IN

PostThu Dec 17, 2009 1:09 am

It looks like "kerning" is applied - if nothing else, see if you can reset that. I don't know Works at all, but if it's similar to Word, it should be under fonts, character spacing, etc.

Return to Useful Info

Who is online

Users browsing this forum: No registered users and 1 guest