Words introduced by movies

Comments related to the operation of NitrateVille.
  • Author

Serch

Words introduced by movies

PostWed Feb 29, 2012 11:10 am

Hi everyone!
I am about to start my senior year at college and I have been thinking about a good thesis proposal, and I came up with the idea that (since I am studying english language) I should chose as a topic "the words that were introduced or popularized"by movies.
I have other topics for the thesis proposal as well, but this is so much fun and I was wondering if you could help me find those words,I only know "movies", "paparazzi", and I think thats it...There must have been some words that were used for some decades and then were forgotten, I´d like to know about them as well.
so, any ideas?
Thank you in advance!

silentfilm

Re: Words introduced by movies

PostWed Feb 29, 2012 12:14 pm

Cinema, Kino, flickers, flapper and vamp.

Serch

PostWed Feb 29, 2012 12:27 pm

Thank you so much!

Rick Lanham

PostWed Feb 29, 2012 1:13 pm

Chaplinesque.

Donald Binks

PostWed Mar 07, 2012 6:16 am

"Flea pit" - a cinema not distinguished by its comfort.
Regards from
Donald Binks

"I was in love with a beautiful blonde one time. She led me to drink. It's the only thing I'm thankful to her for."

Penfold

PostWed Mar 07, 2012 7:52 am

I could use some digital restoration myself...

Frederica

PostWed Aug 29, 2012 12:34 pm

CelinaC wrote:As far as I know, the word 'Zombie' was introduced in "Night of the Living Dead" movie :)