Hagerstown, MD: THE HUNCHBACK OF NOTRE DAME (1923)

Announcements of upcoming theatrical silent film exhibitions.
silentfilm

Hagerstown, MD: THE HUNCHBACK OF NOTRE DAME (1923)

Unread post by silentfilm » Mon Sep 03, 2018 9:11 am

https://www.heraldmailmedia.com/life/br ... bf5c5.html

Bringing sounds to silence

By AJOYA LONG Special to The Herald-Mail Sep 2, 2018

At 3 years old, Dave Calendine’s gift of music was shown through his use of a player piano.

“I grew up with a player piano and I just always loved the music and so I just started playing along with the player mechanism and then I just started branching off of playing things, on my own without the piano player part,” Calendine said.

As he got older, he took an interest in the organ at his church.

“I was just fascinated that you can have so many different sounds from one instrument, you could play with your feet, you had multiple keyboards that each had a different sound on them that you could change, and so I was just fascinated by that, and then when I heard the theater organ when I was 16. I did the best with what I had to do and what I had to get my hands on and I’ve been doing it ever since,” Calendine said.

Now living in Detroit, Calendine is a resident organist and organ curator for Detroit’s Fox Theatre.

He has played for the Radio City Musical Hall Christmas Spectacular and serves as chairman of the American Theatre Organ Society.

Calendine will perform the music for the screening of the 1923 silent film, “The Hunchback of Notre Dame,” from 7:30 to 10 p.m. Friday, Sept. 7, at St. John’s Episcopal Church in Hagerstown.