Familiar with Microsoft Works 9? What did I do wrong?

Site FAQs, calendar of festivals and other helpful tools.
User avatar
Darren Nemeth
Posts: 1233
Joined: Tue Dec 18, 2007 11:58 am
Location: Waterford Township, Michigan
Contact:

Familiar with Microsoft Works 9? What did I do wrong?

Unread post by Darren Nemeth » Wed Dec 16, 2009 10:25 pm

A month ago I bought Microsoft Works 9, installed it, typed a document and everything was fine. Several days later I tried typing another document and all the characters are scrunched together as seen below!! :(

Also when I open my existing Works document files they appear the same way! They weren't like this in the older version of Works I had on the other computer. I searched through all the settings and tools and can't find what I did wrong. :(

I just reinstalled it tonight and get the same.

Can someone suggest how I can fix this? I have a feeling something needs to either be toggled on or off. :(

Anyone have the same problem?

It looks like this when I type something in a fresh document.

I figured someone here will know the answer because this forums has more than a few book authors.

Image
"How to Film Moving Pictures in the 1910's" by Darren Nemeth
https://darren-nemeth.squarespace.com/h ... the-1910s/

Online
User avatar
boblipton
Posts: 6279
Joined: Fri Jan 18, 2008 8:01 pm
Location: Clement Clarke Moore's Farm

Unread post by boblipton » Wed Dec 16, 2009 11:22 pm

Darren, with the minimum amoutn of sarcasm, your problem is you're using Microsoft Works. Try switching to Open Office -- it's free.

You may have a hidden character or may have printer setting issues.

Bob
Life's too short to sit on our rears watching other people's work.
— Bob Fells

User avatar
Rick Lanham
Posts: 2041
Joined: Wed Feb 25, 2009 10:16 pm
Location: Gainesville, FL

Unread post by Rick Lanham » Wed Dec 16, 2009 11:35 pm

If I had the above problem, and had already re-installed the program, I would:

1. Check to see that the correct fonts are selected for use (maybe in a template file? or a wrong template file is selected?).

2. If that is OK, then I would re-install the fonts from the master disk or a backup.

Rick

User avatar
Danny Burk
Moderator
Posts: 1734
Joined: Tue Dec 18, 2007 7:11 pm
Location: South Bend, IN
Contact:

Unread post by Danny Burk » Thu Dec 17, 2009 1:09 am

It looks like "kerning" is applied - if nothing else, see if you can reset that. I don't know Works at all, but if it's similar to Word, it should be under fonts, character spacing, etc.

Post Reply